Something something best laid plans…

I have to say that things have not exactly gone as expected.  At least in regards to writing.  I ended up getting sick on the 17th and that just dragged on through until yesterday.  A week and a half of being barely able to talk, coughing, nausea, and muddled thinking.  It was a grand old-time.

It was, I know, by a going away party for a friend of mine.  A party where mistakes were made.  Pitchers of hard alcohol mixed to taste like iced tea were created.  And consumed in unhealthy portions.  A mixture that has now been dubbed “Stew’s Bane”.  It was a night that has put me off drinking for a good long time.  It was a night that has made it so that mouth wash gives me a horrible wave of nauseating disgust.  Ugh.  Just thinking about it is making me queasy.

I’m hoping to be back at work on the novel either tomorrow or over the weekend.  I’ve got all of chapter five planned out by this point with a few little details that need to be worked out.  I still haven’t decided on how I’ll be treating vampires.  The only thing I went in with was knowing that they need to be terrifyingly vicious if pressed.  Nearly feral when they’re first turned.  That the entire process of becoming one is an excruciatingly painful experience.

I’ve also started making notes on a sequel to “Seeking Perfection”.  Like the first I already know how the opening chapter will play out and a bit of the middle.  But the ending… is unknown.  I have a few ideas of how things will play out but I’m not sure if I want to go that route or not.  I do like the current concept of three forces at play pulling Mike towards their own goals.  But I think I’ll just mull over the ideas for a bit and see what I think in a month or so.  Who knows, I may have a better idea by then.  Or a more refined idea at any rate.

Leave a Reply

