Nanowrimo 2013 – The Revenging

Well I can’t honestly say I was expecting to be so absent as I’ve been.  I think it’s, in part, due to feeling a bit down over things.  Haven’t had the urge to write in a good long while.  Basically I’ve become the embodiment of a bum except employed and well groomed.  Hopefully things will be changing soon though.

I say hopefully because I received a reminder that Nanowrimo is starting up again.  There was a bit of a groan, both internal and audible, when I saw that.  While the first go round wasn’t what I’d call a painful experience it sure made November a long and grueling month.  But I did write a novel I enjoyed.  And maybe this time I’ll actually get a chance to join in on the write in sessions.  Although since the first meet up is on a day that I’ll be running my annual Call of Cthulhu Halloween adventure it’s already not looking good.

Ah yes.  Cthulhu.  Like I’ve said before many, many, many months ago: I don’t run these seriously.  In the slightest.  How can you when some of the plot lines involve a group of Krampus (Krampii?) going on a killing spree in worship of a crude statue of Santa?  Or a herd of Gremlins emerging from decades spent in caverns beneath Arkham, only to see images of elves and Santa Claus and believe that they are Santa’s little helpers of death?  This time round I’ll be throwing a bit more horror in and a bit more puzzles.  But since my stipulation for character creation is that they all need to be from ISIS from Archer I’m expecting this to be a very dark horror comedy.  Also lots of show references.  If there isn’t one mention of “Danger Zone” I will be deeply disappointed.

But back to Nanowrimo… I do think I’ll be taking part.  I’ve been throwing around some ideas for a sequel to the Seeking Perfection.  And once again I know how it begins and how it ends, and a couple things in between.  I think it will still bounce between character perspectives but instead seeing things from the antagonists perspective it’ll bounce between Mike and another protagonist or two.

Leave a Reply

